Change/Restart

Posted on Updated on

Apparently, things didn’t work out as they were supposed to.  Living in West Virginia was not as I thought it would. I love the kids, they are awesome. Spending time with them is great, but when they leave, every other week, the big house gets so empty and I have a whole week, where it is so quiet and lonely in the house. I am not really an au pair, but more a house keeper in this week. I clean up and live there almost on my own, because the host parents leave early in the morning for work and return in the evening. You could say now „why don’t you go out and have some fun?“ I tried. I explored the whole city, even the outer parts, but here is really nothing to do. I don’t even get, why I was okay with coming here. I’ve dreamed of the biggest cities of this world since I was a little kid and now I live in a small town with less than 50.000 people. That couldn’t be the right thing for me. I just didn’t realize this earlier.

I am sorry about how this ended now, because I let the family down and they need to find another au pair, but I wouldn’t have been happy if I had stayed there for a whole year.

last pictures of West Virginia
last pictures of West Virginia

DSC_0202

I found a new family in Ashburn, Virginia, that seems to be a better fit for me, so I left my old family on Sunday.

I got on a train on Sunday morning (which was 2,5 hours late) and drove for 11 hours. I got off in Washington DC, where my new host mum already expected me and I was so happy to see her.  We went home, had some late dinner and I finally fell into the bed, that will be mine for the next ten months. And right when I entered the house, I didn’t feel like a guest, like I had for the last two months. I felt like finally coming home.

I just hope that this time, everything will finally work out and I will have the best year of my life here.

Love, Kathi ❤️

new home
new home
3 thoughts on “Change/Restart

    theaupairdiariesusa said:
    September 16, 2016 at 9:38 pm

    So glad you were brave enough to rematch in that situation!! Hope you have had an amazing experience in Virginia (I’m just about to continue reading the rest of your blog) ☺️ why were the children away every second week if you don’t mind me asking?

    Like

    Leonard said:
    August 21, 2015 at 9:03 am

    Respect for your decision and even more respect for consequently realizing the change!
    You’re writing honest and self-reflexive posts. Keep going and i wish you all the best for Ashburn!

    Like

      kathikoltes responded:
      August 23, 2015 at 11:51 am

      I really appreciate your opinion.Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

