5th week

Posted on Updated on

Okay, I will never need to be concerned, when it comes to boredom caused by weekly routine. Never. This week was crazy. The boys’ dad got back from Thailand, Bobby died, the boys got crazy cube puzzles, that I needed to solve, a police car almost hit us and we got lizards. (Whaaaat?!😵)

But let’s start on Monday. The boys’ dad had been a week in Thailand for a work trip, he came home on Monday afternoon, just after the oldest one discovered that his fish, Bobby, had passed away and was sobbing for hours. The only way stopping his cries were the presents, their father brought them. They all got a few hundred Baths (thailandic money), that were worth only a few bucks. But it made the boys feel like they have a lot of money. They also got a different cube puzzle each, which are not possible to solve. So they were so desperate about that and begged for help, which is why I told them, I would solve them over night, although I know, you should never  make, promises you can’t hold! But I did it! Thanks God for the internet and youtube, which holds all the secret solutions to every puzzle the world knows about.😃

How is that ever gonna be a cube?!
How is that ever gonna be a cube?!

make_wooden_puzzle_06al

So that was that. Tuesday was better. A good day, if we want to call it like that. We did everything we were supposed to do, we figured out every conflict we had and we managed to do everything for school, we needed to do. Everything was just fine. Until i wanted to go to bed und needed to watch the cat throw up. IN MY BED. I mean, seriously?!😠 Why not during the morning, when I have enough time to wash everything?! Why did she need to do that in the first place? why not in her litter box? Well, I couldn’t do anything else than putting my sheets in the washer and the dryer and wait until everything was done.

The next days were okay. We had some happenings, like the police car who was driving next to us and wanted to change the lane. Into ours. My boys were screaming and my heart stopped, when his car almost touched ours. There was no way to make any space for him. But he did see us early enough to get back in his lane, which made us all be really thankful. But let me say one thing: AMERICANS DRIVE LIKE SH***! They’re such bad drivers, I have no words to explain that.

Friday after school, everyone was happy. The weekend was there, there was nothing we needed to do. (The kids don’t even have homework on Fridays.) So I took them to a basketball court, where we played the boys against me for about an hour. The boys are really good and thanks to my years of basketball training (cough, cough) they get even better the more we play together. Afterwards, we went home, played a little outside, made some dinner and….

…went to school again. 😮

But not to get some serious education. We went there with our camping chairs, and as soon as we jumped out of the cars, we could smell it. The popcorn and pizza and all the yummy sweets they sold, while everyone could sit down in front of the big canvas they had set up, to watch a movie under the stars!😊

IMG_6072

The kids had a lot of fun, they got to see all of their friends on a weekend (even though they saw them at school in the morning, they were excited to see them again), and they had popcorn, skittles and ice cream.😃

Saturday, I didn’t really have any plans. So I slept in (no longer as 10, that’s not possible in this house, the boys are just too loud). Then I checked all my social media pages (yes, that’s what I do when I wake up) and found a post in a Facebook group for au pairs from a German girl, Chiara, who lived really close to me who was looking for friends. And who isn’t looking for friends these days? 😉 So I texted her and spontaneous as we are, we decided to meet up to do a little shopping together. So i picked her up and we spent literally 8 hours in 2 different malls, and many many stores (and maybe a litte bit in Chick-fil-A🙈). It was a fun day, even though we spent much more money than we wanted too. But everyone should agree with us that it’s smart to buy winter clothes now, when they’re still cheap, before they get really expensive when it gets colder 😃

Sunday, Chiara and I had made plans with the girls of my au pair group (Nina and Esra) and some other girl, who we ‘met’ on Facebook, to go to DC to do a little sightseeing. So we went to see the Washington Monument from all different perspectives and the Lincoln Memorial, and of course the White House (which I had already seen before). We had a great and long day, that we ended with a good food at a restaurant. (Can’t remember the name 🙈)

20150920182527 20150920182544 20150920182527-4IMG_6150IMG_6140

Weekends here are getting better and better! Let’s see, what the future will bring 😊

Love, Kathi ❤️

PS: Everyone knows, I don’t really like potatoes. (Or at least a few people know that.) Guess what’s the thing I cook the most for dinner, just because I really know how to do it? Correct: POTATOES 😃

IMG_6067

PPS: Forgot to mention the lizards. The boys were crazy about getting lizards since I’m here. They told me they wanted lizards since they were little (as if they were big now, haha). But this weekend, it was finally here. Their dad took them to a pet store and got them some Anole’s (or whatever they’re called, I don’t really know). So now, everyone is freaking out about the new pets, the boys are so excited!

For everyone who (like me) didn’t know, what a lizard is: llmlacertaadult

Leave a Reply

