10th week / Shenandoah National Park

Posted on Updated on

And another week that past so fast. It feels like time is flying and there are so many upcoming events, it’s unbelievable.🙈

On Monday we went on a movie night with the whole family, to watch Ghostbusters with the whole family. It was not just a movie, it was called a movie-party. Everybody got 2 light sticks, one in red, one in blue, a whistle, a huge marshmallow and a little bell, which we should use when it’s also used in the movie. We also were allowed to talk the whole time during the move, as long as it were the correct lyrics. 😃 It was really fun and we all enjoyed it very much.😊

FullSizeRender 156FullSizeRender 157 IMG_7927

I also got my Virginia driver’s license this week, which is the third license I have now 😊

FullSizeRender 154

The rest of the week went pretty normal until Friday. On Friday I worked my two hours in the morning and afterwards I was off, because I was supposed to work on Saturday night. So I had long Skype talks with some of my favourite people (7 hours, to be honest), and I thought, this would be a really laid-back weekend. Until I got a text, that I would not need to be with my host family saturday night (To make one thing clear: I really love them. I also don’t mind working on weekends. But if there’s the possibility to spend time with my friends after a week of work, I will always choose that.😉 )

So I packed my bags and went of to Rabea (again 😃 ) where Vicci and Marie had already arrived, too. We spend the night eating pizza and nachos and watching High School Musical. (Yes, we’re grown up! ) On Saturday, we drove North to go hiking in the Shenandoah National Park. At least that was the plan. It took us about 3 hours to get there (instead of the 1,5 hours the gps had told us before.) But we had good music in the car, so the bad traffic was not THAT bad. When we arrived there, we were looking for a nice hiking trail, but first, we stopped at some overlooks to take some pictures. Then we stopped, to have a nice picnic and then we got into another traffic jam in the Skyline Drive, the only road through the mountains. So we just took another stop at an overlook and decided to turn around and drive back again. (that sounds really short, but we really spend about 3 hours in the park!) And yes, we constantly sang Country Roads and we got to see the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Shenandoah River! 😍

IMG_8166 IMG_8197 FullSizeRender 158FullSizeRender 152 FullSizeRender 155

On our way home we picked up Alex and drove to Rabea’s again, where we had dinner, and decided to go on with Disney movies, so we watched Camp Rock 1 and 2 and Mean Girls afterwards (or at least we started that one, we went to bed during that one.

Sunday was really lazy, we slept in, got some rolls from the German bakery in Arlington, and watched some more movies. (finished mean girls, started chetah girls and went on with Twilight. Yes, we’re weird.😃) When I came home a few minutes ago, I just talked to my boys and my host mum a little bit and went straight to my room, to fall in my bed. I’m so tired and I can’t really believe that the weekend is already over again. Time is flying so fast! One more week until Halloween, two more until our trip to Philadelphia, then it’s Thanksgiving and soon afterwards Christmas and then 2015 is already over! That’s crazy!

Oh btw, my trip to the Rocky Mountains is cancelled, we’re trying to make it in December, but there’s nothing fixed yet, which is really sad, but we can’t change it…

Hope you all have a great new week! 😊

Love, Kathi ❤️

Leave a Reply

