6 months / Halftime

Posted on Updated on

It is December 15th. You know what that means? Exactly. On June 15th, 6 months ago, I left my home in Germany, to fly to New York and there are so many things that happened ever since.

I went to my orientation days in New York. 5 days living on the Upper West Side!

I moved to Huntington, WV, which didn’t really work out for me, but I lasted 2 months šŸ˜‰

I went to Rematch, which was probably the hardest time since I’m here.

I found my lovely host family in Ashburn, VA, where I live ever since.šŸ˜Š

These are all the things that everybody already knows. But what was going on with me?

Well, I am 19 years old, living in the US, about 6000 miles away from home. I do have the time of my life here, but that doesn’t mean, that I’m happy 24/7. There are good times and there are bad times. I know,Ā it always sounds really good in my blog and all the pictures on Instagram only show the cool stuff, but to be honest, being an au pair is probably the most exhausting thing I’ve ever done. I work 45 hours per week, 2 of my 3 kids have ADHD, the family situation is not perfect. My relationship broke apart because of the distance. I have a whole life here for this year and that makes it sometimesĀ hard to catch up on peoples’ lives in Germany. Ā There are theĀ bad times. When I miss Germany, when I miss my friends, my family. What I really strongly miss, though, is the food. Can you imagine that? (okay, most of you know me, you can imagine that.) Out of all the things that I left behind. I’ve never been so happy about finding Leberwurst in a supermarket. Or reading the word Currywurst on a menu (even though it wasn’t a good one.) I don’t say, that the food here isn’t good or I don’t like the US. But I do like the German food better and that is one big thing I really wanna do first when I’m back. I realized, that since I am here, I do appreciate growing up in Germany in way more than before and I love being able to call that nation my home. As a little girl, I always imagined living in the USA, the huge country full of possibilities. Where everyone can become someone big. Well, I knew, that it wouldn’t be like this, before I came here, but I was a little disappointed about it. There are so many things that go wrong in this country, starting at health insurance and education and there’s a whole list of other things. I know, they are working on it, but considering some of the candidates for the presidential election in 2016, there won’t be solutions for all the problems in this country any time soon. These and many other things made me really think about the country I wanna spend the rest of my life in and it will definetely not be the US (even though I am thinking about extending for another 9 months, but that decision still has time).

But I guess I can still consider myself lucky for everything I have and for all the places I get to see and all the people I get to meet. It is so totally worth it. I love my host family so much, they appreciate me, they like me, as I am and I still have all the freedom I need to do whatever I want to do on the days that I am not working.

So, I guess I’m done talking.

Let’s go back to all the good times by looking at all the cool places I’ve already been to! šŸ™‚

 

 

 

Love, KathiĀ ā¤ļø

One thought on “6 months / Halftime

    Leonard said:
    December 25, 2015 at 1:07 pm

    I like that you tell an honest story – with all the ups and downs that are always part of life.
    All the best for another six months (or maybe even more)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

