47 Yellowstone Nationalpark 

Posted on Updated on

My hostfamily left Friday morning to go to their grandparents’ house for the weekend, so I started packing, hung out with Marie for a bit, emptied out half of my room already, packed my bag for the next week and went to bed pretty early, to get up early and catch my flight at 7 in the morning.

Destination: SALT LAKE CITY.

Layover: Denver, 4 hours.

It took me 14 hours to get from my house to the hotel in SLC I was gonna stay in for that night. After some trouble with my shuttle to the hotel, I finally made it and got to know the tour guide of the tour I had booked (Not Chinese, thanks god!🙈) He was, besides to other man who were there with their Chinese families, the only white person in the bus. Everybody else was Chinese or Taiwanese. But I knew this was gonna happen, so it didn’t surprise me ✌️

img_8788-2img_8787-2img_8782-2

The next morning, we took off at 6am (or more 6:15, since Chinese people are apparently not good with punctuality 😫)
Our first day we drove north out of Utah and all the way towards the north of Wyoming where we spent our time visiting  Jackson hole, where we had dinner, Grand Teton National Park, the most regular geyser in the US Old Faithful, where we got on time to see it’s eruption,  Grand Prismatic (more geysers 🙈), Fountain Paint Pots and we stayed the night in a Hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana.

Antlers Arch in Jackson Hole


On Monday, which was also Independence Day in the US, we went to another geyser basin called Norris, then went on to Artist Point, which is a overlook over beautiful waterfalls within yellow stones (which is why the Nationalpark is called Yellowstone). Afterwards we went to a Mud Volcano, which is exactly what it’s called. A geyser that erupts all the time and covers its surroundings with mud.

From there we drove to Steamboat Point, where you have a great look over Lake Yellowstone, the biggest lake in the Nationalpark, followed by Wyoming Overlook, where you could see many many miles of Wyoming’s beautiful countryside. Monday night we stayed in Gillette, where we stayed in a beautiful little hotel ☺️

Norris 
Artist Point in Yellowstone

Lake Yellowstone 

Wyoming Overlook
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette

 

On day 3 we went to the most famous sights of the tour: Devil’s Tower, Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse.

Devil’s Tower was America’s first National Monument and is a laccolithic butte composed of igneous rock in the Bear Lodge Mountains.

 

Devil’s Tower


Mount Rushmore is a massive sculpture carved into the mountain showing the 4 presidents and founding fathers Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Theodore Rosevelt and Abraham Lincoln.

 


Crazy Horse is another sculpture that is being carved in stone (since almost 70 years) which will show the Oglala Lakota warrior Crazy Horse, when it is finished.

 

Crazy Horse in Construction
Scale Model of Crazy Horse


Day 4 and the last day of our tour we climbed Independence Rock, a rock where Mormons, when they were on their way to find new land for themselves, stopped at Independence Day to celebrate and carved their names into it.

 

 

Independence Rock

img_9137


On our way back to Salt Lake City we stopped at the Olympic Park in Park City, where the Winter Olympics happened in 2002. It is a great recreation center now where you can do all kinds of sports and activities.

 


In Salt Lake City we visited the Capitol building, saw the Mormon Temple on Temple Square and saw the Great Salt Lake, the reason why the city got its name. We ended our tour at the hotel we stayed in the first night and a shuttle took me back at the airport, where I got on my plane to Denver, hung out there for about 2 hours and took one last plane back home, where the baby girl in front of me cried for about 2 hours, so when I arrived at 5:15am, I had not slept a minute 😫 But my boys are not home so I got plenty of time to just fall in my bed and stay there for a couple hours ☺️

 

Capitol Building of Utah

Great Salt Lake

Sunset on my way to Denver


It’s been an amazing couple days and I am so glad I got to experience it! ☺️

 

I’ll be home for another 5 days now before I will have to say goodbye to the US and hop on to a plane back to Germany again.

See you soon! 🙂

Love, Kathi ❤️

Leave a Reply

