I’m back home!

Posted on

I spent my last days in the US with the people I was closest to the whole year. My hostfamily and my girls 🙂

We went for last dinners, last shopping, last visits and last conversations before we’re gonna see us again. Some in a couple weeks, some in a year, my hostfamily hopefully in 2 years when I go back to visit.

Monday, July 11th, was the day. I had my suitcases packed, cleaned my room out, had thrown away junks full of trash and was ready to go home. My hostfamily dropped me off at the airport, I checked in, got through security and was on my own. Exactly like year before. Waiting for 3 hours until the flight is gonna go. Drinking a last Java Chip Frappuccino. Finding out the flight is gonna be half an hour late. Having another Starbucks Coffee. Finally getting into the plane, where everyone already speaks German and everyone is excited. I’m excited, but also confused and not really realizing, that my year is now officially over. I am looking forward to going back and seeing my family again, my friends, my hometown.. But I also know that I am gonna miss this. Living with people that became my family during the year, the people I trust and the people I was able to talk about everything and everyone. We went on vacations together, had our crisis, worked together and simply lived together. It is weird giving this up.

But here I am, in the plane, still answering in English when people talk to me.

I’m landing at 5 in the morning and am out of the exit with my suitcases about 20 minutes later, where Hanna is already waiting for me ☺️ She got up at 3am just to come and pick me up. 🙈☺️

It’s good to be back.

Back in my hometown we do some sightseeing (haha🙈) and have some brunch. Meet another one of my friends for a couple minutes, stroll through the city, pick up my brother after school, surprise my daddy at work and are at my house right before my mom gets home. She is surprised, but happy, of course, when she sees me.:)

IMG_9291

Since then, the weeks have been flying by.

I went to see my sister in Ludwigsburg and we visited Stuttgart together, I visited my friend David in Karlsruhe and met Luzi, the girl I met at my Rocky Mountain Tour, again.

I went out with friends, enjoyed beeing able to drink beer and wine again, got back together with my boyfriend Jonas, and spent some qualitytime with my family.

Right now I am waiting for feedback from Universities, hoping that someone takes me. If not, I will probably staying in Trier for at least the next year, to start studying here.

I guess that’s it. My au pair adventure is officially over now. Life goes on and what stays are memories of an amazing year, where I got to travel, live with an amazing family and made some really good friends!

Even though it also was a tough year, I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way!

 

Love, Kathi ❤️

IMG_9479

One thought on “I’m back home!

    theaupairdiariesusa said:
    September 16, 2016 at 11:45 pm

    Thank you so much for making this blog and all the time you took to update it throughout your AuPair year!! I spent the whole afternoon reading it all 😅 you didn’t stay for your travel month?

    Like

Leave a Reply

